2016-11-09 / Front Page

Legislative round-up


YORK COUNTY—In House District 4, which includes Ogunquit and parts of York, Wells and Sanford, incumbent Democrat Patty Hymanson retained her seat, fending off Republican challenger Bradley Moulton 2,971-2,639.

In House District 8, which covers part of Kennebunk, Incumbent Democrat Chris Babbidge won against Republican Bradley “Scott” Ducharme, a certified engineer and resort owner. Babbidge won with 3,774 votes compared to Ducharme’s 2,203. 

In House District 10, which includes Arundel, Dayton and part of Lyman, incumbent Republican Wayne Parry beat Democrat Emily Ingwerson 3,432-1,904.

In House District 11, which covers part of Biddeford, Incumbent Democrat Ryan Fecteau bested Republican opponent Renee Morin 3,185-1,507, a margin of 1,678 votes. 

In House District 12, which covers part of Biddeford, Incumbent Democrat Martin Grohman narrowly defeated Independent challenger and political newcomer, Matt Lauzon. Grohman earned 1,847 votes to Lauzon’s 1,614.

In House District 13, covering Old Orchard Beach, Incumbent Democrat George Hogan bested Republican Michael Coleman 3267-2054.

In House District 14, covering part of Saco, Democrat Donna Bailey with 2606 votes won a three way race with Republican Jeffrey Christenbury, who received 1582 votes and Independent Jacob Johnston, who received 991 votes.

In House District 15, covering part of Saco, Democrat Margaret "Maggie" O’Neil, beat Republican Mark Bedell 3331-1709.

In House District 16, covering Hollis and part of Buxton and Saco, with results from Hollis not in at press time, Incumbent Republican Donald Marean beat Democrat River Payne 1,832-1,107.

In House District 17,  Waterboro and part of Lyman, incumbent Republican Dwayne Prescott bested Democrat contender Gerry Gibson by 1,003 votes, or 2,757-1754 in unofficial totals.

In House District 18,  part of Sanford, Democrat Anne-Marie Mastraccio  secured her third term in the Maine House of Representatives, besting her Republican opponent  Gordon Frohloff 2,321 to 1,380.

In House District 19, incumbent Republican Matthew Harrington eked out a 120 vote win 2,282-2,162 over his Democrat opponent, political newcomer Democrat Nalbert Tero, to represent part of Sanford. 

In House District 20, Acton, Lebanon and part of  Shapleigh, Republican incumbent Karen Gerrish handily bested her Democratic opponent, Dan Lauzon, 3,362-1,561.

In House District 21, encompassing Alfred, Newfield and parts of Limerick, Parsonsfield and Shapleigh, Republican candidate and state education policy-maker Heidi Sampson trounced Democratic opponent and local forester Aaron Carroll for an open seat. Sampson defeated Carroll 3,137-2,030. 

Return to top