2017-05-30 / Community / JT Beacon

Ogunquit Heritage Museum opens June 1

OGUNQUIT — The Ogunquit Heritage Museum at the Captain James Winn House, 86 Obeds Lane in Ogunquit, opens for its 16th season on Thursday, June 1. 

The museum will be open from June 1 to Oct. 31 on Tuesdays through Saturdays from 1 to 5 p.m. 

Following York Library's lead, there will be an exhibit of  students from the Woodbury School of Art.

"The Pine Hill Girls"- Gertrude Fiske, Elizabeth Sawtelle, Amy Cabot and Charlotte Butler will be highlighted along with some of the other students from the school. Museum officials say they are very grateful to Janice Plourde for her help with this exhibit.

Ogunquit's favorite restaurateur and raconteur Richard Perkins with his partner Robert Maurais will be showcased. Their 50 year career spanned from the Dickie Dare to Clay Hill Farm and everything in between, from humble beginnings to waiting lines for fine dining and all the grandeur.

There will be a display of enlarged, vintage postcards featuring many views of Ogunquit in the 1900's and also exhibited are some wonderful cartoons by John Neill from 1964.

In the small borning room a permanent collection gives prominence to a pair of Ogunquit's famous teahouses — The Dan Sing Fan and The Whistling Oyster. Showcased are signs, furniture, menus, photographs and paintings from the original buildings.

The ell houses the Perkins Cove collection, including artifacts from the fishermen's shacks of old. There are also paintings and photographs, past and present, that have been created around Ogunquit.

Admission is free and donations are always appreciated. The Museum also houses the extensive Littlefield Library, information on Maine families and towns through the years and a replica of the famous Ogunquit dory. 

For more information, call 646-0296.

Return to top